Mantella Adoption??

Discussion in 'Mantella' started by SLDDave, May 2, 2006.

1. SLDDave

SLDDave Contributing Member

I visit this pet store by my house often to get crickets and for months I have noticed this little mantella. For the past few weeks I have looked for him but apparently he's always been hiding in his coco hut. This brings me to todays events. I saw him today only because the store thought the public could see him better without his hut. I think this is kind of mean. If you don't know what a mantella is or even looks like then why are you going to buy it???? Anyway I'm thinking of adopting him but I need opinions because I am not experienced with mantellas and only have one pair of darts. Let me know what you experts think.

2. Lackey

Lackey Member

Any idea what type of Mantella it is? I have also been thinking about getting a couple from Mark. From what I understand, they are similar to keeping Darts but some require a cooler temp.

3. SLDDave

That's what i hear as well. I have no idea what kind it is (you know pet stores). He or she is a dark orange with black on the sides. I just feel that I could provide a nice habitat for him

4. Drew

Drew Administrator Staff Member

im sorry to hear that a pet store is mistreating a frog. But by buying it you start the vicious cycle, where they sold it so they get more of them to mistreat.

5. SLDDave

Maybe I was too hard on the pet store because when I went to get him today they had completely changed his enclosure and gave him back his hut. I didn't even say anything to the employees about it either. I had my mind made up about it anway and bought him. I'll post pics tonight after work. BTW I think it is an M. betsileo

6. SLDDave

Here it is

[​IMG]

7. Heisenberg

Heisenberg Member

That looks to me like a brown mantella. Correct me if I am wrong someone.

8. Frogkeeper

Frogkeeper Member

Looks like a brown one. Most likely the won't bring in any more Mantellas don't usually sell that well.