New to the hobby

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Phgnome, Jul 20, 2017.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. Phgnome

Phgnome New Member

I'm so happy to find this community. I'm a total newbie to the hobby. This will be my first viv build ever. I've always wanted to keep dart frogs and vivariums but i don't know why I didn't. I have a background keeping fish (years ago, I lived in an industrial space with concrete floors and ~40 aquariums) and then I got married and had kids and the kids have taken up most of my time. About a year ago, my daughter with autism has taken a deep interest in frogs. We were at Ontario Science Centre and she saw the dart frog exhibit and fell in love. Since then, she has used her recently acquired spelling and keyboarding skills to do "research" on the pets she wants. I'm totally on board with it -- I've ALWAYS wanted to keep dart frogs and I'm fascinated by the creative things that people do with their vivariums.

I'm so pumped about starting our first vivarium. We just picked up a second hand 18x18x18 exo terra. I've been checking out some of the videos and threads to learn more. I think I'm ready to try out my first build.

Ethan A, erikm and pygmycory like this.
  2. pygmycory

pygmycory Member

Glad to meet you. I'm new too.

It must be nice to share an interest with your daughter that both of you can get enthusiastic about. Do you know what species you want yet? I hope everything goes really well for you.