Drilling glass

Discussion in 'Construction & Parts' started by Carlos, Mar 28, 2016.

1. Carlos

Carlos Contributing Member

ok so these new exo terra vivs that I got are completely sealed with a glass top. It makes the front glass door very wet and full of condensation. I guess the only way to clear this up would be to drill holes into the glass top. What size do you think would work? How many? Drilling glass scares me as I've never done it before. Any tips?
    I just don't want to shatter the glass as the top is siliconed down from both sides making it a pain the remove it if I shatter them.
    I have 6 18" cube vivs to do.

2. erikm

erikm Administrator Staff Member

Yeah some ventilation would help for sure. Another option to help would to have internal air circulation fans in each viv. A fan can clear up your glass pretty well.

That being said, I definitely prefer to have a bit of ventilation. Sorry I can't help with drilling glass, I get my glass cut/drilled by a local shop.

mystah likes this.
  3. Carlos

I usually get glass cut/drilled at a shop too. But this time the glass is now part of the viv.
    I could live with it this way, I just think in the long run it might drive me crazy if I don't do it. But if I break the glass I'll be really mad at myself too. Lol.

4. erikm

Yeah you certainly don't want to break the glass!

Completely closed vivs can get pretty stagnant without any air movement.

5. TJ_Burton

TJ_Burton Contributing Member

I've drilled glass many times. My tips are as follows:

Use new, quality diamond hole-saw style bits. Cheap china bits on ebay will work, but only cut 2 or 3 holes easily, and after that they are already dull and take more effort/patience.

Use plenty of water. I use a sprayer with the nozzle set to a stead stream and constantly wet the surface I am drilling to prevent heat buildup and to flush out the glass dust as it is produced.